top of page

TRIBAL
TRANSPORTATION RESOURCES

FHWA CENTER FOR LOCAL AID SUPPORT

The Center for Local Aid Support provides information, training and technical assistance to local governments, tribes and Federal land management agencies that will enhance roadway networks and create economic opportunity.

FHWA CLAS CONTACTS (TTAP)

Morgan Malley, TTAP Program Manager
Morgan.Malley@dot.gov

Joe Conway, Director
Joe.Conway@dot.gov

Danielle Mathis-Lee, Program Manager
Danielle.Mathis-Lee@dot.gov

FHWA OFFICE OF TRIBAL TRANSPORTATION

The Office of Tribal Transportation (OTT) administers the Tribal Transportation Program (TTP) and provides stewardship and oversight for direct funding agreements with 135 federally recognized Tribes.

FHWA OFFICE OF TRIBAL TRANSPORTATION LEADERSHIP
Erin Kenley, Director
202-309-9908
Erin.Kenley@dot.gov

Brian Allen, P.E., Field Operations Manager
360-619-7511
Brian.Allen@dot.gov

 

FHWA OTT SOUTHWESTERN REGION CONTACTS

Jaime Torres-Gonzalez Colorado
202-380-5381
Jaime.Torres@dot.gov

Jolena Palau, P.E.
New Mexico
505-820-2029
Jolena.Palau@dot.gov

Manuel Sanchez
Navajo Nation
202-308-6235
Manuel.Sanchez@dot.gov

 

NEW MEXICO DOT TRIBAL LIAISON

The purpose of Tribal Liaison at NMDOT is to maintain the government-to-government relationships outlined in New Mexico's State-Tribal Collaboration Act and to assure compliance with the federal tribal coordination requirements.

Ron D. Shutiva, Tribal Liaison
505-670-5465
ron.shutiva@dot.nm.gov

 

BIA NAVAJO REGION OFFICE CONTACTS

Herby Larsen, PE, Acting Manager

505-863-8255 herby.larsen@bia.gov

Daniel Largo, Jr., Acting Superintendent

505-786-6036

Daniel.Largo@bia.gov

Alfred Reed, Northern Agency Engineer

505-368-3347

Alfred.Reed@bia.gov

BIA SOUTHWEST REGION OFFICE 

The Southwest Region encompasses a dynamic and diverse mix of Tribes, Tribal members and natural resources. 67,456 Tribal members make up the 24 Tribes and the Ramah Navajo Chapter of the Navajo Nation under the Southwest Region. Tribes are located in New Mexico, Colorado and Texas and encompass 4,869,744 acres of land.

1001 Indian School Road, NW Albuquerque , NM 87104

BIA SOUTHWEST REGION OFFICE CONTACTS

Patricia Mattingly, Regional Director

505-563-3103  Patricia.Mattingly@bia.gov

Douglas Hickman, Regional Reality Officer

505-563-3330

Douglas.Hickman@bia.gov

Corwyn Henry, Regional Transportation Engineer

505-563-3433

Corwyn.Henry@bia.gov

NEW MEXICO LOCAL TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (LTAP)

The New Mexico LTAP center provides technical assistance and trainings to support workforce development with the aim of helping local governments and municipalities across New Mexico meet their transportation needs. NM LTAP's mission is to provide technology transfer in the surface transportation arena, and to promote surface transportation and worker safety to all New Mexico public works and transportation agencies. 

COLORADO LOCAL TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (LTAP)

The Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) is a Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) technology transfer program that provides technical assistance and training to local transportation departments across the nation. Funding is allocated in the Transportation Bill. Established in 1981 as the Rural Technical Assistance Program (RTAP), it is the primary way that FHWA helps local transportation agencies learn about maintaining and improving their roads, innovative methods and materials and ways to work smarter.

Front Range Community College (FRCC) became the host of the Colorado LTAP Center in the summer of 2020.  

ARIZONA LOCAL TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (LTAP)

The Arizona Local Technical Assistance Program exists to help Arizona's local public agencies better identify and utilize existing transportation resources at their disposal. AZ LTAP helps locals cope with the ever-growing transportation demands they face by providing access to technical and management materials, delivering on-demand technical assistance and training, and by maintaining a vast network of communication with industry experts.

AZ LTAP brings together academic, governmental, and private resources, stakeholders, and information to ensure a safe, effective and efficient transportation system in the state of Arizona. By delivering new concepts and ideas, training, technical assistance and by disseminating research results and new technologies for both transportation providers and users, AZ LTAP is paving the way as a leader in transportation information exchange.

bottom of page